Home > Marketing, Work > My Cookie Project

My Cookie Project

Posted about Cookie magazine last time.  Fear that I may have a full-blown obsession with Cookie Moms.  For those of you unfamiliar with Cookie, it’s motherhood filtered through the gimlet-eyed lens of Conde Nast.  Think of it this way — if the magazine world was a high school, Parenting would be the outcast girl who cool Alpha Girls Vogue and Domino take under their wings as their makeover “project” and transform into Cookie.

These are two Cookie Moms who happen to be celebs to give you a taste (as it were):

Julianne (aka Critically Acclaimed Cookie) via People.com

Heidi (aka Supermodel Cookie) via celebritybabyscoop

So I’ve been thinking of doing my own version of the “Julie/Julia” project when the next Cookie issue comes out.  Only instead of cooking and blogging my way through an entire cookbook as Julie Powell famously did in her blog-turned book-turned forthcoming film (btw my foodie colleague Lisa tells me this is now an official term — “cooking through” as in “I’m cooking through Mario Batali’s Babbo cookbook so I can get over my fear of beef cheeks”), I’d follow every piece of advice in the magazine for as long as it takes to accomplish that particular task. 

This needs a name.  The meaning of “cooking through” is obvious. Since my Cookie project involves not only reading the issue from cover to cover but actually modifying my behavior based the advice contained within so I can become the ultimate Cookie mom — perhaps I’ll call it “improving through.”  If anyone has any better ideas, I’m all ears!

So if I actually “improve through” a complete issue of Cookie, this is what will happen:  I am chic in a fiercely individual but slightly bo-ho kind of way.  I master the flawlessly unmade-up made-up face and effortlessly tousled wash-and-wear hair.  My parenting is firm yet creative. I produce impeccably plated, whole food meals for my son and organize inspiring vacations in stylish AND family-friendly global destinations.  My home is a sophisticated yet quirky hybrid of mid-century modern and cottage chic, with at least one room set aside in which my son can play with artfully carved wooden toys from Scandinavia and color on the walls without fear of reprisal.  I am a rock star at my very interesting job which is probably in a creative field and commands a high six-figure salary — OR I have opted out of corporate America and am embarked upon a financially promising and soul-satisfying “mom-preneur” project.  I dress my son in designer togs made of organic fibers that can only be found at tiny boutiques on side streets of NoLita or Silver Lake.  I am a temptress with the magical ability to “rekindle the spark” with my husband of nearly a decade.

Oh, and I am thin.

New issue hits newstands in about three weeks.  Anyone else interested in “improving through?”  I may need some company/moral support on this particular journey.

Categories: Marketing, Work Tags: , ,
  1. July 26, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    I was thinking “Blundering Through” would be my working title. I will join you, but you can’t laugh at my innate lack of “chic-ness.” See, I’m already minus 10 points cause I used the non-word “chic-ness.”
    Oh- and is there a Cookie bank account that will support our new Cookie Mom status?

  2. ssmirnov
    July 27, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Girlfriend, you already are a Cookie mom, you just don’t realize it. Nevertheless, I am psyched to have you as a fellow traveler on the Cookie Express. I await the September issue with equal parts excitement and dread!!

  3. August 2, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Interesting endeavor although I must say that while I don’t know you just from the posting alone I imagine you’re already there. While I know that many of their articles are promoting the chic mama and family I also feel that the Cookie mom is someone who lets me be who I am regardless of whether or not I have the right dress in my closet (because believe me, I don’t).

    I look forward to reading more about your adventure and may just select a choice few pieces of the September issue to jump in with you!

  4. ssmirnov
    August 5, 2008 at 11:11 am

    Thanks for the post, Whimsicalwalney (may I call you Whimsical?) You’re kind to say so and maybe there’s more Cookie in me than I realize, we’ll see. Please join us on the Cookie Express, the more the merrier. And congratulations on your site, by the way, which is terrific.

  5. lisa p
    August 8, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    I’m all for “cookie-ing through” next month’s issue. Love the blog, though I’m mostly a lurker.

  6. ssmirnov
    August 9, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    Hey Lisa P, thanks for making an appearance! And you win the big prize for best name for this endeavor. I think we have about a week till Sep issue drops, god help us, thx for jumping on the Cookie Express.

  7. August 22, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I would definitely like to come along for the ride as I am always looking for opportunity to satisfy my inner Cookie Monster. This could one wild ride ladies…

  1. August 9, 2008 at 1:17 pm

Leave a Reply

