Home > Culture > Animated Shorts

Animated Shorts

I’m obsessed with creativity — how to channel it, nurture it, harness it.  I am endlessly jealous of graphic designers and advertising creatives and artists and others like them who get to luxuriate in candy-colored worlds of inspiration and ideas and limitless coolness all day (or so I imagine)…I live their world vicariously by devouring design magazines like Metropolis and How the way foodies gobble up Gourmet and Bon Appetit.

Animators fall into this group, in my mind.  Animation never fails to ignite my creative fire.  Always has.  I remember as a kid loving the “Pink Panther” movies less for the comic genius of Peter Sellars and more for the uber-cool animated opening credit sequences. By the tender age of six I could discern the difference between Hanna-Barbera  “Tom and Jerry” shorts and the ones directed by Chuck E. Jones (see below, note resemblance to early-60s Looney Tunes drawing style and the original “Grinch Who Stole Christmas.”  Look at Tom’s toe.  Awesome.) 

via wikipedia

So needless to say I am excited beyond reason to see “Wall*E.” What does this say about me? Who cares.  Pixar is genius.  Dreamworks animation is fine, I enjoyed “Kung Fu Panda” and the “Shreks” and all the rest but nothing touches the magic, whimsy, beauty and humor of Pixar animation in my mind. 

This little trash compactor has SOUL.  (via hollywoodreporter.com)

(O ye of little faith, don’t take my word for it.  Check out this great review…)

But wait, I’m forgetting the films of Hayao Miyazaki which have the same power and impact. “Spirited Away” is one of the most amazing, magical, strange, hypnotic movies I’ve ever seen.  Let your fingers do the running, not walking, to Netflix to get it on your queue if you’ve never seen it.  Trust me, it will open your mind and your heart and soothe your soul.

Ridiculously beautiful and lush (via fanboy.com)

Categories: Culture
  1. June 26, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    If you had Roku you could have all of the animation you wanted at the same price you are paying now!

    In fact, I have all of the 68 episodes of the Pink Pather cartoon in my playlist already – funny coincidence!

    http://ideasthatspread.com/blog2/2008/06/25/its-not-appletv-its-roku/

  2. ssmirnov
    June 26, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Roku is boggling my mind. Thanks for the comment, JC! And I applaud your taste in mid-60s animation.

  3. June 27, 2008 at 9:48 am

    nothing beats peter sellers though

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

