Home > Work > So Much for Sisterhood

So Much for Sisterhood

So am reading “The Art of War for Women” by Chin-ning Chu which is described in one of its jacket blurbs as “a must-read for working women who want to take a holistic, high-road approach to building their careers.”

Sign me up!  Plus, there’s something about the whole workplace-as-battlefield metaphor that appeals to me.  (What this says about me, I don’t know.)  And I was curious to see why us little ladies need to have the original “Art of War” translated for us in the first place, what special insight would make the ancient wisdom of the original that much more relevant for today’s working woman.

Well, wonder no more.  Surely any  woman can identify with this spectacular piece of advice for dealing with “nasty, crablike creatures at work” from Chapter 7:

Slap her twice the first time she steps out of line. Keep your plan as dark as the night. When you move, be as unpredictable as the thunderbolt.

So I finally have permission to use physical force at the office?  YES! 

Oh…wait…I think “slap” was meant metaphorically.  Damn.  OK, but I can still do that “unpredictable as the thunderbolt” thing…not sure what that means, but I like the sound of it.  Crabby co-workers, look out. I’m diggin’ this “high-road approach” to building my career!  And there are still seven more chapters to go!

Categories: Work
  1. lee
    June 12, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    thanks for the warning ….

  2. ssmirnov
    June 12, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Don’t worry, LM. I believe the book is counseling me to slap other women around, so you’re safe.

  3. catchthevision
    August 1, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Interesting stuff!

    I have been thinking, and blogging about the fact that being ‘bad’ at something can be useful for some people’s careers, whereas being ‘good’ at something can hold others back.

    I wonder whether you see any parallels from your perspective?

    I’d be interested to know what you think. (If this enquiry is an intrusion, please forgive me and delete my comment.)

    Url: http://catchthevision.wordpress.com

  4. ssmirnov
    August 5, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Thanks for the comment, Graham. Not an intrusion, of course. I agree with you completely. Am reminded of the old job interview trick when asked the cliche’d question, “What is your greatest weakness?” to which any clever job applicant
    responds “I’m a perfectionist” or “I set too high a standard for myself in all I do” thereby pivoting “bad” to his or her advantage. The interesting challenge for me — has been for nearly 20 years now — is how to harness the best of both classically masculine and feminine traits in the workplace. And to your good/bad question, when (if ever) is my “feminine” tendency to nurture or be empathetic good and when is it bad? Your thoughts on the gender thing are most welcome!

  5. catchthevision
    August 5, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Funnily enough I blogged about “feminine” / “maximum” issues a while back. If you’d care to read the blog and let me know what you think, we could continue this discussion. Please see “Changing Organisational Cultures” under “Thoughts from Graham” in the right hand column of my blog on Url: http://catchthevision.wordpress.com

    I’ll look forward to hearing your thoughts. . . . . . .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

