Home > Family, Nostalgia, Parenting > Outgrowing Star Wars

Outgrowing Star Wars

January 14, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments
This image is known in Star Wars movie poster geek circles (not that I’d know anything about that) as “US One Sheet Original Movie Poster Style C.” It’s awesome and old school and at the height of my 7-year old’s Star Wars frenzy, I found a decent reproduction and had it lovingly framed for his bedroom.

 

Did I mention it’s awesome?

 

Tonight getting ready for bed the 7-year old gives the poster a sidelong glance and says casually, “You know I’m not into Star Wars anymore, right?”

 

And a little piece of my heart dies a quiet death, kind of the way Yoda finally became one with the Force in Episode VI except that had hung around for 900 years and the damned poster only survived my son’s fickle taste for one.

 

Only consolation is he got Beatles Rock Band at Christmas so now he wants a Beatles poster. Could be worse.

 

Image via.
  1. January 14, 2010 at 1:20 am

    Star Wars kills me. I totally feel your pain. The day Aiden tells me he is “over” Elmo I might tear a bit.

    On a good note the Beatles are pretty happen-in..or so I hear…

    • ssmirnov
      January 14, 2010 at 1:51 am

      Yes, I keep hearing quite a bit of buzz about those Beatles… ;)

  2. January 14, 2010 at 10:09 am

    I have a bin filled with about $500 in Star Wars toys that my 2 sons now completely ignore. But the good news is we now have about $500 in Pokemon cards… :)

  3. January 14, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    Hang on to it – he’ll want it back after college.

    • ssmirnov
      January 16, 2010 at 10:25 pm

      Oh no worries. It’s already hanging over the bed in the master bedroom.

  4. January 18, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Oh I can so relate to this post. My youngest (9 today) is still in a dinosaur room and he is really hinting around that it isn’t cool anymore. They still like Star Wars but on in game form.

  5. January 18, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    Man, I love Stars Wars

  6. January 19, 2010 at 10:35 am

    I remember my Star Wars phase from 11-14. Then I moved on to Backstreet Boys. So the Beatles is a great transition. But, at 7 he’s done? He’ll be back in high school.

  7. Audrey - Mom Generations
    February 7, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    I just had to have my husband read this… LOL. We LOVE Star Wars! xo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

